Passing through

I went for a slow amble round Old Sulehay Forest this morning, mostly photographing mosses and liverworts, with a few early spring flowers thrown in. It was quite sunny when I set off, but by the end of my walk it was overcast with a cool breeze, so I gave up any idea of going elsewhere and headed for home.

Lucky that I did, because I'd not long been back when Pete spotted a male siskin on the patio feeder, the first we've had in the garden for some time. It was soon joined by another male and a female, and they all stuffed themselves with sunflower seeds for several minutes, before leaving, never to be seen again. I managed to get a few shots, even though the light levels were abysmal!

These pretty little finches are smaller than a greenfinch, with a distinctly forked tall and a long narrow bill. The male has a streaky yellow-green body and a black crown and bib. There are yellow patches in the wings and tail. It breeds in Britain, and is most numerous in Wales and Scotland, but in winter the numbers are swelled by European birds. Our birds are probably winter visitors, feeding themselves up before the long journey home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.