Onwards and upwards....

By Yana1

1598. #letsdo52 and macro practice

I had a wee wander into town this morning to post a letter at our supposed main post office....what a joke...they have these automated terminals and neither were working so I ended up waiting 20 minutes just to post a letter and when I finally got to the window I asked why these machines were always broken, only to be told that "they're not broken it's just that we need staff to man them"....I thought the point of these that they didn't need staff? So the queue was almost out of the door and lots of people only wanted to post letters!

So this afternoon after making a lovely Chicken Korma for lunch I am having a little play with my camera and doing some macro shots.  The AYWMC group I've joined called #letsdo52 sets weekly and monthly challenges and so far it's been a lot of fun.  This week is "rule of thirds" so I was trying to find a way of working on some macro shots (I have to do a short presentation on Thursday!) and also completing this week's shots for the weekly challenge.  I've added the two other shots into the extras.....I'm so pleased that I did this course because I now feel that I have complete control over my camera settings for macro which is something of a revelation for me as a resolute user of intelligent auto, I did a wee experiment where I set the camera back to intelligent auto to see what settings it would select and whether or not the photos would be better than the ones I did totally manually.....and I'm glad to say that my all manual ones came out much better!  I had to crop a little as my bridge camera won't do very close macro shots in RAW, only JPEG but overall I'm pleased with the results.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.