Father Christmas.

This Father Christmas was knitted by one of my aunts. She was my mother's younger sister and she died some years ago.

She was a striking looking woman, and although she had a look of my grandmother about her, she also didn't quite look like the others. It all became abundantly clear, when I was told after she died, that she did in fact have a different father. My grandfather had died in 1923 and this particular aunt was born in 1925, after my grandmother had an affair.

My mother herself didn't even know until she was a teenager, although I don't understand how, but she said she hadn't even thought about the time factor. She found out when a much older sister blurted it out.

I always wished my mother had written a book about her family, I asked her many times to do it, but unfortunately she never did.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.