Over the Fence

You can see in this fairly typical farm shot that the grass is quite long and we are quite well off for feed at the moment. We are fortunate as much of the country is still drought stricken. 
We could do with more rain now though and some is forecast so here's hoping.

Extra is a dead bat (no need to look if you're not inclined, I just thought I'd record it).
I haven't seen any live ones about but found this in the house which didn't impress me. I am wary of bats as they can carry lyssavirus which is more or less rabies, except we don't have rabies in Australia. 

Mr isbi here : this is a micro-bat, a very small insectivorous creature that is not uncommon around here but rarely seen, not only because they're small but they are nocturnal. They are the smallest bat in the world and I'm sure I read somewhere that they are also the smallest mammal. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.