Versa Vice

This morning F’s daughter and son in law had business in the area so called at my house to see us. It was lovely to have them visit.

This afternoon the rain had stopped but it was still windy. I needed to do some financial stuff in town so F drove me in and dropped me at the bank where he joined me. I had one more thing to do up the road but getting there was as much as I could manage so he fetched the car to pick me up. It might have been the wind that meant that I couldn’t walk far today but they did tell me in hospital that I’d be better some days than others.

When I got home there was a pot plant by my door. A friend had been round and left it. I was sorry to have missed her but I can see her again.

The photo is of a Versa Vice that belongs to F. It was his dad’s and probably dates from the 1930s and has “Made in Great Britain” on the underside. It’s a very useful tool and I sometimes borrow it when I have jewellery to mend as it grips small parts really easily. It’s a beautiful piece of machinery and very tactile, a real pleasure to use.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.