Bigdreamer

By Bigdreamer

The surgery

I woke Maddie up early and gave her a big breakfast to keep her full for as long as I could, she had to fast from 7.30am and I wasn't sure what time her surgery was. I was hoping she was first on the list to be called . Maddie was feeling anxious and was very quite. I helped her pack a back full of things to keep her entertained, and her beloved teddy 'pony'. Check in time was at midday.After we had dropped the youngsters off at grandmas, we headed straight into the city.

I was so very proud of Maddie, she was very anxious and scared but she delt with it and was very brave and polite. The nurses and staff were amazing making Maddie feel very relaxed. After a discussion with the staff we found out Maddie was going in 3rd, which was strange as she was the youngest patient there and usually it is done in age. I also had been told by the surgeon that she would be 1st. After questioning why and telling them of my concerns for her going in so late, they said they would try and shuffle thing around a bit. I settled Maddie down and put a movie on the I pad, 'Denese the menese' this kept her mind ogg the hunger pains and the anxiety.

We were called at 3.oopm we had been moved into second spot. Maddie was very calm and didn't make a fuss, I stayed with her until she went to sleep, always very very hard to watch, they made it really funny for her and it was nice to see such happy and friendly staff. 40 minutes later and I was called to come to recovery. The nurses kept telling me how well manned and lovely Maddie was, even when she was waking up all groggy and disorientated she was smiling and polite. I walked in and found her calmly talking to the nurses still pretty out of it, but answering their questions.

Recovery was another 4hours. We got home just after 9.00pm. Tried, sore and still pretty out of it we carried Maddie up to bed. What a brave little girl she had been today. Maddie you amaze me with your inner strength every day.

This was taken in the early morning, Jagga always has to be on top of the girls. Laying his head in their laps. Jagga has a new way of checking to see if we are inside the house. He will jump onto the table that is outside by the window and peer inside, and if he spots us he will tap on the window to alert us that he wants to come in. The girls find this hilarious.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.