Nampula

The 3.30am alarm was fairly gruelling and didn’t provide for much recuperation following the proceeding night flight. I caught a plane to to the northern city of Nampula at 6am, so it was still early when I arrived.

I needed to be productive in order to give momentum to some deadlines whilst I’ll be in the bush, so I bedded down at a cafe at Nampula airport to plug away. I made some good headway given how exhausted I was.

I eventually headed into Nampula town after battling with the airport taxi drivers, who are as scoundrel-like here as elsewhere. For Mozambique’s second largest city, Nampula doesn’t have many draws. Especially today when it dripped damply after persistent rain.

The city’s growth is due to agri-business and its location as the centre of the country’s three poorest provinces: Niassa, Cabo Delgado and Nampula. People move here seeking better prospects, but I doubt they rarely find great riches.

I saw a nice statement on Instagram recognising International Women’s Day: ‘todas mulheres sao iguais por terem forca e determinacao. Por isso e muito mais desejamos a todas um Feliz Dia Internacional da Mulher.’

‘All women are equal for having strength and determination. For this and much more we wish all a Happy International Women’s Day.’

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.