A Blip In The Fens

By Alesbirdwin

Waxwing Weatherman

I've never seen a Waxwing before, and I have to admit when I first saw this one, for a moment I thought it was an escaped cockatiel with his red crest standing up like a shocking red punk mohican, but then I spotted his friends further up the tree and discounted that idea.

According to the news in the last week or two we are seeing more waxwings than usual this year which could be an indication of a really harsh/severe winter. Typically there are only 100 pairs who spend Winter in the UK, but this year there are thousands, coming across to escape a bitterly cold Scandinavian winter which isn't providing enough food for them.

Let's hope their weather forecasting skills don't prove accurate!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.