AGBPhotography

By AGBPhotography

Birthplace

I set out this afternoon with a slightly off prompt for today's 'Wide Wednesday' challenge in my head. For some reason I had the tag "somewhere close to you" in my head  instead of "something in your locality". Fortunately my planned destination covers both.
Shrublands House is about a five minute (literally) walk from where I live in Torquay and also has a personal connection.
Now a drug rehabilitation centre up until about 1969 it was the maternity home for Torquay hospital, the connection to me? It was where I was born back in 1968.
The grey building just visible between the trees towards the right of the picture is what used to be Torquay Hospital (or dispensary as it would've been known as). This closed around 1929 when the current hospital opened. I've included a photo of this building in my extras on my blog, https://agbpblipphoto.blogspot.com/

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.