An old student and an even older lecturer

I enjoyed a fabulous lunch date today with Kenny. He was one of the students in my first set of honours graduates many years ago in 1995.

Before Kenny first joined my first year IT class he did not know how to type on a word processor, create a spreadsheet, use an operating system, nor send an email. Those are all skills that I taught him when he was still a teenager.

How the world has changed in the past three decades. Today we discussed the recent sale of Kenny's highly successful IT business, his possible early retirement, and his own daughter's university career. The only drawback of this kind of conversation is that it made me feel rather old :-(

The rest of the day was spent reviewing/editing documents, planning with a project board, and catching up with members of my research group at our weekly Wednesday afternoon meeting.

Exercise today: walking (18,498 steps).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.