spring...

...buds

on a christmas cactus

buds which i'm totally surprised - yet delighted to see - after the flooding in my apartment - and this plant taking a direct hit - i wasn't even sure it would live - but my sweet brother took deliberate - and tender care to clean it of insulation debris - put it back together telling me - cactus plants are one of the most hardy - 'have faith' - 'it'll come back' he told me - adding it would just take time

underneath all the stress - and navigating everything i was at the time - i really only half listened to him - i sort of counted the plant gone - it was in such sad shape - i added it to my grief - as i'd received it from a dear friend - some 15 years or more ago - so admittedly i was sad since it was my oldest - christmas cactus plant i'd managed - to keep alive over the years

however now my friends - due to the love of a brother - and my continued care at a hotel - now my new house - somehow through its own plant drama - miraculously it's giving me off shoots of new life - plus now as you see - buds which will bloom - into wonderful flowers out of season - to again remind me - survival is possible - in any circumstance and will lead to...

a

happy day.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.