Sandy Hook

Despair

our nation weeps
yet again
waves of sorrow
engulf small town
America
our Sandy Hook

our hearts broken
yet again
crushed dreams
lost hopes
schooled
by despair


For the Record,
This day came in bright and sunny doing nothing to lift our heavy hearts.

I was, I am a kindergarten teacher. Twenty eight years, thirty if you count student teaching, always the tallest kid in the sea of silly little persons. A big deal, their first year of public school with the big kids. I lay awake last night imagining my classroom. Early in the morning, the day just beginning, little faces filled with promise sitting around me in a circle. Little bodies filled with jumping beans greeting the day. How could this horror happen, how, tell me how? When will it end?

Over 180 school shootings since Columbine in '99. We must make this stop.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.