History lesson

We’ve been to the hospital again today for Mr H, but all is progressing as it should and we are now on the next phase of recovery.

I spotted this sign last week, but decided today it was going to be my blip. I guessed the Duke of York in 1928 was the Queen’s dad, later becoming George VI, but I thought Bradford Royal would have been older than that so did a bit of research when I got home.

BRI is indeed a lot older than 1928 and this is when it moved to its current site, opening in 1936. Quite an interesting history which I won’t go into here, but what I was surprised to discover was that Chemotherapy was introduced and developed in the UK at Bradford by Robert Turner. https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Robert_Lowry_Turner

Something Bradford should be proud of.

Mr H is doing so well we managed a walk together with Reggie, who is stepping down his nursing duties, on the moor. It was very windy , but I never expected to be doing a circuit - all be it a shortish one - with Mr H so soon. Happy days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.