GiselaClaire

By GiselaClaire

Ma'luba

In work on Thursday, I was lamenting the fact that I hadn't learned to cook any local dishes to prepare for my family over Christmas. My colleague invited me to join him and his family the next day so he could teach me how to prepare ma'luba, my favourite Palestinian dish.

Ma'luba means upside down. The dish is made with chicken or meat, which is first boiled in water with onions and olive oil. You take a big pot and line the bottom with chopped fried onions, then a layer of chopped fried aubergines. Next, comes the meat or chicken, which is then covered with rice. The stock from the meat is mixed with ground black pepper, ground cinnamon, ground cloves, grated nutmeg, salt, and a special local spice mix. After bringing the pot to the boil, it is left to simmer for half an hour. Then, you take the pot and turn it upside down on a big platter. Hey presto! It was delicious.

Cooking is very much not my strong point. My family will die of shock if I manage to cook this at home!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.