Thepainterswife

By Thepainterswife

Peace and pain

I can’t even begin to explain today.

It was a beautiful blue sky day here in Arrowtown.
We decided to drive up along Lake Wakatipu to Glenorchy. What a stunning part of the country, amazing views. We went up to the start of the Routeburn Track and just soaked up the beauty, walked along the river, sat in the sun.
It’s the last day of our holiday.

I got a txt from a friend in Auckland on the drive back to our hotel. Checking to see if we are ok? I had a gut feeling of dread and wondered what she meant. I assumed a Earthquake??
We hadn’t looked at our phones all day, enjoying the time ‘ off grid’.


As the world now knows it was the awful news of a terrorist attack on two Mosque in Christchurch city.
Our city has been through so much, we are a peaceful and safe city, this sort of thing has never happened before.
I feel sick about it.
Nearly 50 men, women and children have been shot and killed while going about their weekly prayers.
I just can’t believe it.

We will be driving home tomorrow.
Our friends and family are safe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.