Nose Work in Vikingland

It was dry, when I left work and decided to drive to the old Viking Fortress in Slagelse. 

Once I was on the motorway, then rain came... Heavy rain! I could hardly see the road. 

But since we had already driven there, we decided to make the most of it. We went on a really wet walk and then I went back to the car and got my Nose Work training gear out. 

Nose Work is a dog sport created to mimic professional detection dog tasks. The dogs must find a hidden target odor and alert the handler. In Denmark Lavender is the first odor, that you teach the dog to find. 

At first I placed 3 odors around a reconstructed viking house and let all 3 dogs find them. Then I moved the odors to another house and let them search again. 

I was wet through, when we were done and the boys were so muddy. My picture today is of Hero searching for the target odor.

But we had had a great start to the weekend. 

See you tomorrow
Emmy and the Hazyland Boys

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.