biddy

By biddy

Scaring the pesky wood pigeons! Hopefully!

The wood pigeons have begun to peck at the new buds which are ready to open on our miniature plum tree.  
I discovered their predilection for them two years ago and netted it. 
However, last year I decided to try a different solution. 
I got out the old unused discs and tied them to various branches. 
This seemed to have the required effect, thankfully. 
It also had another beneficial one, as they create beautiful light effects on a sunny day. 
I hung them on with garden wire this morning as several went missing in high winds last time. 
We certainly are still in the throes of very strong gusts even today. 
It has blown over part of the fence of the neighbour from next door but one and landed in the garden adjacent to ours. We have mostly hedging, thankfully. .
Other photos in extras.
This morning I began a new sketch for a painting, from a photo taken by Wildwood, who is on blip.
I'll post a photo when it is finished.   
           

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.