The Nile At Cairo

It seems appropriate that the Nile figures in this special blip day for me - my ninth anniversary of enjoying - better said, benefitting - from this wonderful community. Egypt has featured a lot in my journal which, in turn, gave birth to my book on the country, post-revolution.

We went to the top terrace of the iconic, former Nile Hilton to take this shot. It backs onto Tahrir Square and I first came to this hotel 38 years ago to confirm my return flight - remember when you used to have to do that before each leg of your trip!

Then, we walked through the square to dine at Café Riche, the writers' haunt in Downtown and special favourite of Naguib Mahfouz, the Egyptian Nobel Laureate for literature.

So, a little celebration of sorts within our micro-blip community of two which we now extend to our wider-blip community. What a place this is! Thank you so much for all the knowledge, insights and joy you impart every day. I do enjoy being here. Ever onwards!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.