wingpig

By wingpig

well it started out sunny

Such promise this morning. Warm and sunny and Friday. It remained warm enough for people to be outside at lunchtime (including a pair of tourists when WOOLLY HATS AND SCARVES AND SHAWLS FFS on the Grassmarket) but got progressively unsunnish and mistierer throughout the day.

I really like the sort of mist you can see blowing past buildings in big clumps; it reminds me of the day I first visited the city around this time of year in 1994 though it was also drizzling constantly and was substantially colder then. Reminiscence was probably helped by a wander along the Cowgate and back (along which I wandered much that day) at lunch. Managed to get a replacement personal audio computer music file player thing too.

I had to spend the latter part of the afternoon trying not to accidentally bite my tongue or cheeks off after a mouth-numbing injection at the dentist so that my replacement filling could be resurfaced. Wasn't expecting that and had to cancel the plan to pop out somewhere to eat this evening as it would have been highly amusing trying to drink wine sophisticatedly and not dribble soup all over my trousers if I'd been allowed to stay after speaking my foodstuff-order in a sort of elephant man voice.

Popped into the graveyard on the way back from popping back to work to pick up my used shirts in the hope that it was nice and spookily misty but the clumps weren't quite thick enough. Instead rested me by the bum-bum tree and stood awhile in chortle.

It's nice when the world chucks these things at you every now and then.

Off walk hill pub coffee have nice weekend.

Hmmm. On the way to the pub through the tunnel I encountered a bloke doing some stencil graffiti on the wall. I asked if I could take his picture (he eventually seemed to get the message - think perhaps his mask wasn't sufficient to protect his brain from the fumes) so took some shots, thanked him and continued on my way. Shortly after emerging from the southern end (after doubling back when I realised I needed to be on the road rather than the path) I saw a vehicle coming down from the road. As I was going up the steps besides the tunnel it turned out to be a little police van thing which turned into the tunnel and sped to the other end. Now, I frequently pass through this tunnel at all times of every night of the week and have never ever seen the police down there. I really hope they were just doing an interrogatory sweep to check for miscreants and that someone didn't report this bloke just for painting on the wall and that the police didn't actually bother to come down and check it out (in a car too when it's barely two hundred metres on foot from St Leonard's fuzzdepot). I've called them before when a car full of kids came steaming through the tunnel at forty one evening and they couldn't be bothered to check that out. Strange what they regard as important.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.