Daily Tales

By PamelaJ

Old books

Apparently when people are decluttering one of the hardest things to dispose of is a collection of books.

I was tidying up the bookshelves in the spare bedroom and decided to relocate these old children's books to the shelves in my study. Here are located the old annuals of my childhood.

These books were given to me as a very young child by my aunt and uncle. I have just googled them. The Weeping Pussy Willow by Tamara Frankel was published in 1947 in Wisconsin and can be bought for £75 and is apparently quite rare. I expect it was a lot cheaper when my aunt purchased it.

The other book Going Away with Jack and Judy was published in 1946 and was illustrated by Doris and Marian Henderson. It is another American book and can be purchased for 10 US dollars.

The world wide web is a wonderful invention when in a few seconds research you can have images and details of books that bring back childhood memories.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.