Natural History Museum

Last night’s CBSO concert, where all three pieces were by Shostakovich, was stunning. Mirga is a very special and passionate conductor (from Vilnius) and she attracts brilliant musicians and gets the very best out of them. Our regular cellist, Eduardo, played the complex and emotional part in the Limpid Stream ballet suite wonderfully and the piano Concerto was delivered magnificently by the Russian lady, Anna Vinnitskaya. All that leading up to a powerful Symphony Number 5.

As many blippers know, the Natural History Museum in Kensington, displays the winners of the annual Wildlife Photography Competition.

It’s a delight to attend and this year is no exception.

Young photographers, some only 10 years old, show amazing talent, patience and empathy.

This year there were just so many Spanish winners. The standard was exceptionally high.

Do book ahead. They sell out fast. If I hadn’t had my Art Pass with me, they couldn’t have let me in. I’m down here for tomorrow’s final rehearsal of “La Forza del Destino” and I’ve had a brilliant Sunday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.