A holiday souvenir.

Home from Peebles after three most enjoyable days away.

When we started unpacking the car we found we had brought back with us a live souvenir. A quick search in the insect books showed that this was a Wasp Beetle. A very clever beetle which imitates a wasp both in colour and in darting flight in order to deter predators.
It is harmless.
The book says it is common and widespread but I admit that I have never seen one before.

Extras are mainly for days away so here is a last one.

When you get to be pretty advanced in years it is common to start talking about downsizing to something smaller and easier to look after.
With this in mind I drew Mrs.K’s attention to the delightful rural property shown in my extra. It has the added attraction of being situated in the middle of RSPB Campsfield Marshes in Cumbria where we called on the way home.

To my surprise she was less than enthusiastic. But I suppose there would not be much room for my next model railway!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.