Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Mirror

Not what I thought would make blip, but I thought it was interesting. I know you all like reflections in your blips.

Camponotus cf. singularis

I have blipped this large red headed ant before, probably the most common of the large ants that I see. It has a sweet tooth and can often be found around the aphid infestations, collecting the sugary solutions that the aphids eject.

These two are workers and close to half inch long. Like many Asian ant species, there are four member types in the family: queen, male, worker and soldier. UK ant species don't have the soldier, a large headed ant, built for the kill!

From my observations, they seem more solitary than some species. I have never seen a hoard of these ants, dragging a large hopper back to the nest, a common sight with other types of ant. I will blip the scene one day.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.