Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Jeannie

A productive morning and early afternoon spent at the computer was followed by a trip into Stirling, as much to give my eyes and brain a rest as anything else.

A wander around the shops, without managing to buy anything (result!), then a walk up to the Old Town.

I hadn't taken much interest before in Mar's Wark (extra photo), the 16th century townhouse of John Erskine, Earl of Mar, usually passing it by on my way up to the Castle. However, I stopped and read the information board at the site today and was surprised to read that there was a statue on the front wall of Joan of Arc and that it is / was known locally as Jeannie Dark (main photo above). She's all trussed up, too, ready to be the flame-grill of the day.

I've decided to give it a Tiny Tuesday tag because, although the statue itself isn't that small, it appears so in relation to the whole grand facade of the building. And that's my excuse and I'm sticking to it.

Still quite amazed, and a little embarrassed, that I didn't know about this statue before!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.