My Year

By Dunworkin

House Keeping

This morning I've been doing my weekly computer housekeeping.

This is something I started 10 years ago and since I've hardly had a computer problem caused by software conflicts or viruses, etc.

The only problem I've had in ages was the Graphics Card blowing when I switched on after returning from our last holiday. Thankfully, that is now all sorted.

My clean up routine...

Backup to an external hard drive. Backs up all documents, emails, etc., so if anything does go wrong you don't lose any more than a week's data.

Disk Clean Up gets rid of all temporary files and assorted rubbish.

Wise Registry Cleaner sorts out Registry Errors.

Disk Defragmenter reorders files on the hard drive for faster operation. Automatically run daily.

Microsoft Security Essentials runs daily to protect my computer.

Super Antispyware does what it says. Seeks and deletes spyware.

All are either present in Windows 7 or available free. See Gizmo for details.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.