The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Redshank zigzags

The sun made a brief showing late this afternoon after an unrelenting grey day. This was taken from my location of convenience in Arnside, looking across the estuary towards Meathop quarry. After three close-up bird blips, this was one of my small bird in big landscape shots, a redshank feeding along the edge of the zigzag. The ruffled water is as stippled as the mudbanks.

I needed a short walk on my way home. I was being optimistic on Monday about the condition of my back after the puncture work. The remission was brief and the last couple of days it has been most uncomfortable, painful even. In the office we have standing desks for people in this state, so they don't get frozen into a chair shape. A day stood looking at a computer screen was beginning to lose its initial benefit, I needed some exercise.  

So tonight I shall not spend too much time in front of this screen, Gus needs his nighttime walk in the woods and so do I. I shall catch up with comments later.

Good news is that today is the equinox, and there is already more light than dark in a 24 hour cycle. Soon the evening Gus walk will be in the light every night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.