Gifts of Grace

By grace

Firebrand

In November I took part in an exploration titled 'The Firebrand Residency' with the theatre company where I like to play.  This was the view from our workspace on the first day.  The place where I was born is just out of shot to the left.  Left field you might say.

We were asked to bring a secret - could be true or made up, about ourselves or others.  But our director did have to believe it (which implied we'd be bringing it out into the group somehow, using it in the theatre making).  What fun!  What an opportunity.  

I'd been in training workshops before where a similar question was posed on the premise that self-disclosure would generate trust.  People (including myself) tended to disclose something that made them appear more interesting, put them in a good light, shored up their self-concept.

I became really curious about what constitutes a secret?  How, where, why, what do I withold/hesitate to express?  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.