a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Any colour you like

Wide Wednesday: Any colour you like

I was going to take a shot of something derelict, but I couldn't resist taking this shot and in the end it was just too nice not upload.  Apologies for the off topic Wide Wednesday entry - I've tried but I really I don't think that I can squeeze this into the derelict category.

This is the top of Colston Street in Bristol.  Edward Colston was a merchant, Member of Parliament and philanthropist.  He did much that was good for the city.  Unfortunately he was also a slaver - the trade on which so many of Bristol's merchant classes made their fortunes - much to the shame of modern Bristolians.  Bristol has a number of schools, concert halls, statues and streets honouring Colston and nowadays there is quite a debate locally as to how we deal with that heritage.  Some would like all references to Colston to be expunged, so that the city contains no reference to him.  

I think it important to remember our history if we are to avoid the mistakes of the past.  Rather than hide Colston and his ilk I would prefer to see Bristol's difficult past given equal prominence.  In that way at least can the city atone, (at least in part), for the horror of that evil trade and the city's shameful role in it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.