Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Barricades, one way or another

I promised I would show you these when they were complete so here they are. They have been finished for a week now but it has been tricky to get the lighting at its best for them. However, I now have another three projects under way so perhaps it is time these were blipped before I forget.

I was pleased that I chose to show you that bicycle barrier on Friday because by Monday afternoon that entire pathway had been sealed off and cyclists and pedestrians had been re-routed once again.

But back to the fly screens. They needed to be expandable widthways in order to get them into the channels in which the sash windows run and then be pushed apart so that they cannot fall out. So in each window are two undersized timber frames attached by an oversized piece of mosquito netting. Once in place they are forced apart by a pair of little brass gate hooks top and bottom. They seem to do the job adequately and it is handy to be able to fold them in half to store more easily when not in use.

I wonder if in fact that cycle barrier is just the first part of an exciting obstacle course or adventure playground.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.