Synapses

For the record, I went to Missing by Gecko Theatre.

It troubles me that I am becoming impatient with a lack of narrative. Though billed as drama this was more dance with words which in this production were mostly Spanish though in some performances they're Polish. I don't think it mattered in the slightest that I could understand most of the Spanish, I was no wiser than those who couldn't. Episodic bits became clear, but I was left with, Why?

But I enjoyed the staging, especially the frames through which we saw some of the action - a good allegory - and most especially the one on which the lighting managed to produce sparks when a couple were fighting behind it. Very clever.

This was the play that was on the bill when the very wonderful Battersea Arts Centre (where long ago I joined my first ever photography group) was ravaged by fire in 2015. The company lost all their scenery, props and costumes. They were invited back to inaugurate the Phoenix season when BAC  re-opened last autumn. 

I just wish I'd been more engaged by it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.