Philosophy Friday

Thank you for all the appreciation shown to yesterdays wonderful moment.

I wrote this for Facebook - obviously it doesn't apply to Blip - but I thought I'd share it today.

Don't ever be sorry for letting me see the real you.

A grown man reached the edge of his envelope & took a moment to cry on my shoulder this week - and then nearly broke me when he said "sorry".

Don't. Ever.

I don't need or want it. You certainly don't owe me it.

Somehow society - us, them, the past, the present & the possible - somehow we've made it seem wrong to share the bad times, to let our darker moments leak out into someone else's light. Everyone has good times & we seem fine with seeing that, but we're suddenly a lot less keen to know about it when people tell us they're not OK - yet everyone also has bad times, it's part of being human. The circling maze of life.
So-called social media is the new false god. It's a veneer - snapshots of a corner of a picture seen through a distorted lens.Tell us you're having the time of your life, show everyone that fantastic holiday, the amazing food - just don't let us see you sad, down or fighting to get back up, we're not going to like that. As with the internet itself social media is ethereal - a fleeting vapour that won't wrap it's arms around you, won't tell you things will get better - nearly never says down is OK too.

I don't want to know a picture of you, I don't want to see only the one dimension, I don't ever want you to think that's who you need to be. Not for me, not for them and most definitely not for you. It may not seem it down in the  dark depths, but I promise you all of a thing is always stronger than any broken part of it.

Be all of you, love all of you. Don't hide any of it away, you are a thing of wonder.
Dream. Cry. Struggle. Strive. Fall. Fight. Climb. Love. Laugh. Live.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.