Live it loud!

By Lostpixel

Garland

Busy and very frustrating day today. Network problems causing lots of internet outages over recent days and not been able to identify the cause.

Ended up removing my Cisco Router that has four (yes four) Wifi radio systems one pair on 2.4GHz and the other 5GHz and had to change my second rate virgin box back from modem only into router operation. In the end it seems that it's the incoming coax cable thats the problem and not the Cisco router - Having gone round and changed all the network settings on various devices that are running fixed ip addresses - Humph! Going to have to set it all up again so I can partition traffic for work and data intensive stuff from the kids gaming and stuff.

Jamie came home earlier and has already fixed a folder issue on my NAS - it had over 100,000 files using over 50 GByte of space and wouldn't let me delete either the files or the folder via Windows, the NAS web server or via ftp. I couldn't find the SSH interface configuration but he got it sorted in 15 minutes. He's also found the Dynamic DNS app to load on to it as the Virgin router doesn't support Dynamic IP address updates to DYNDNS. I suspect it's in the router, just not exposed on the web interface. Don't you just hate it when your offspring are quicker and more knowledgable than you are.

Anyway - another Focus stack of the christmas tree - this time a view of one of the tinsel garlands. Much more fancy than when I was a kid.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.