Now we have everything

By Gembop

Week 32: Bump does Movember

Seeing as Robin is growing a crazy moustache in aid of Movember, I thought I'd get Bump in on the action to celebrate completing our 32 weeks.

This kind of photo is probably not surprising given how little sleep I got last night, but I'm chalking it all down to practice. At 33 weeks I should apparently start to expect restless nights, but I'm not sure the app meant self-inflicted!

The presentation today went really well. One of the owners, Tom, stopped the session to thank me for my hard work this year in keeping the portfolio together and I was genuinely touched, especially when they then all applauded!

2.5 hours later and with that hurdle jumped, I ran out of the door as fast as Bump would allow to start my week's holiday, and to attend our first NCT class.

The class is held at the teacher's (very lovely) home not too far from Alexandra Palace train station from 7:30pm to 9:45pm although I have a feeling it'll keep running into 10pm as it did tonight. There are 4 other couples in the class and they all seem lovely. It's very strange as we all shared that our primary reason for attending the class is to 'make friends'. I really want a network of other mothers around when Bump arrives, so definitely going into this open minded!

Bump is now anywhere from 17-19 inches in length and weighing 4.5 pounds. He could grow another inch this week alone. The level of amniotic fluid he's swimming in has reached its maximum this week, meaning there's more baby than fluid in there now. Apparently this is why I can almost grab at the bony little elbows and knees that are nudging and pushing constantly.

Because he's getting larger and the uterine wall is getting thinner, Bump can also differentiate between light and darkness/day and night. He's also hit another important milestone: his immune system is developed enough to provide protection from mild infections.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.