Saltspring pictures

By Ernie

Lantern and horse

I don't know the origin of this nice lantern. But they were in fashion in Sweden 15 years ago, and one of our favourite cafés used them as Christmas decorations. The horse is a piece of ceramics, made somewhere in Latin America. What has the two in common? Nothing in itself. But I bought the horse in a gift shop in Stockholm about 30 years ago, just before Christmas. It is a bit crude, but I found it cute. And just that Christmas was memorable for me in a certain way. At the same time I also bought a Nativity in similar style. But it has disappeared, I don't know where.

You move from place to place, and between different life situations. Some people carry with them an incredible amount of stuff. But I'm not a collector. Quite randomly, some odd pieces have been following me for a time, while many other things have left me without any traces. My life sometimes feels like a quilted patchwork. Well, nothing wrong with that. For the last 8 years I have not moved at all. Kind of a personal record!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.