Some things change

And some things stay the same. 

Castle Street in Carlisle leads down past the Cathedral towards the castle, passing Tullie House, which you can see with the clock tower. I was walking down here to the hairdresser's and remembered a postcard I bought a while back - see Extra.

The photo on the card was taken around 1899 and shows the same spot but with street trade in the form of a potato market. The wicker baskets are brimming with potatoes. I think I was at the right angle, as I imagine the two boys were looking at the camera and that's where I was. Interesting that all the buildings in the picture are still virtually the same, but everything about the road has changed. The railings look rather good, but they were taken down in 1930. 

For some reason I could not load the extra photo, so I put it on flickr here
Now it has accepted the extra!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.