rower2012

By rower2012

Flashy flesh fly!

Although I am a bit of a car fan, for viewing of fast cars only and not owning them, I felt that I needed a complete change of pace for today's blip. (I changed yesterday's rather basic blip into a red Ferrari this morning).

Looking back at my past comments and those of Paladian's, it seems to me that the most popular blips are macros and closeups of birds or insects.

Polishing up my macro skills I went out bug hunting today. All I caught was another common fly, this one called a flesh fly. He is nice to look at in closeup, but not very nice in his love of meat, or any sort of flesh!

These flesh flies differ from most other flies in that they will deposit hatched or hatching maggots instead of eggs on other dead animals, dung, decaying material, or even open wounds of animals, hence their unfriendly common name. If you have a love of insects, see him even better in LARGE.

You can see that this fly has huge eyes, and was watching me as I was edging closer and closer for the shot. For all the fly haters out there, it is probably best that I say no more!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.