Highly Unsprung

By CynicalWench

Arthritis? Me? WTF?!

Kessock overnight for an early start in Strathpeffer for an all day work session before heading home at night. The 200 mile drive has really buggered up/aggravated my right hand. I was recently diagnosed with osteoarthritis and it seems my day job and the time spent on the computer and driving...is no friend to it. As im a secret (not so secret Dave would say) hypochondriac diva, I was a wee bitty shocked to be arthritic...in my head I'm a perpetual 18 year old.....way too young for arthritis...but apparently not, it is not uncommon for women my age (26....okay, okay...36...okay..46) to get it.

Most likely genetic...thanks very much Dad and Grandma Sinclair...and I already have some fine knuckle bumps...great for dressing up as a witch on Halloween I guess.

I sulked for a whole weekend for the loss of my youth when I found out, what a daftie, now I'm all about anti inflammatory hand creams. I bet it was those two bloody years failing at learning cello in primary school...or all that lego obsessed years of brick sticking....or maybe the secondary school piano playing (Beautiful Bach!), ...or my chanter and occassional bagpipe years (thankyou Gordon Barracks Soldier and Heatherdale ladies Pipe band - particularly the underage drinking lessons - pipe bands eh?!) that did it....or maybe all the late in life ladies wot gin glass holding.....

But i need to calm the beans. Dad has it big time..but still plays table tennis for Scotland in his 81st year...so I should just get an (arthritic, annoyingly achy) grip, stop sulking, and get on with it! Oh and I need to stop asking people if they want to feel my lumps...that just sounds weird and I might get arrested, hahaha

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.