Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Passing by

It's so long since I've uploaded anything that I'd almost forgotten how to do it, but here it is: my first upload in ages.

I've been fierce busy for the past few weeks and will be for the next couple, finally doing something about dragging my unfortunate neglected house into some semblance of attractiveness. This is just the first step, and only involves the porch, the hallway and the main living area, but even something as small in ambition as this is taking up all my time and attention. Yesterday was the turn of the clearer-outers. A pair of hard-working guys spent five-and-a-half hours emptying out the garage and two bedrooms and pulling up old carpets on the hall, stairs, landing and in the main living area. The long-time-intended job of removing a solid-fuel back boiler and its fireplace surround happens on Friday, an odd-job man moves in on Monday to un-squeak the floors and do some other bits and bobs, Dave the Painter takes over after that, new carpets will be laid on 10th April and new curtains hung the day following.

In preparation for all that I've been busy emptying cabinets and packing stuff away in boxes, as a first step towards yesterday's clear-out and I've also had landscape gardeners in clearing away weeds from between the unfortunate shrubs which I'd killed off. They'll putting their heads together to come up with a planting proposal and will hopefully prove to whip the front garden into shape on the fourth attempt.

So, what's today's blip got to do with all that? Nothing directly. I was out in Blackrock checking out possible new sound equipment to go with the newly freshened-up house (unsuccessfully, unfortunately) and then went for soup and a sandwich in a café place across from Conway's pub. I first noticed the way the shafts of light were hitting the red paintwork and then also noticed how they seemed to step with as they made their way across the frontage. The passer-by wandered into shot as I lifted the (phone) camera and I waited until she'd reached a spot that looked good. Result: something blippable.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.