Par Mes Yeux

By MesYeux

Oenophiles Welcome

One of the jobs that I had when I was in undergrad was working as a wine steward in Spec's. For those of you who are not from Texas and for whom that last sentence is meaningless, Spec's is a massive liquor store chain here in Texas. Not massive because of the number of stores but because the stores themselves are so huge. There are literally dozens, if not hundreds, of different types and brands of wine in each store.

Since I was working as a wine steward, I took it upon myself to amass a decent collection worth ~ $300. However, I quit working there in 2009, and all of the wines that I had purchased have been in the rack ever since. I finally decided to pull the corks and hoped that the wines were still good after a decade.

Sadly, the first few bottles that I tried had already gone bad and had a very tangy, effervescent quality to them. Happily, though, my absolute favorite wine of all time is still just as delicious as the day I bought it, despite being 14 years old. If you are a red wine lover but have never had a Grand Cru from the Saint-Emilion sub-region of Bordeaux, you owe it to yourself to give it a try.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.