Ko Tātou, Tātou - We Are One

I'm finding it hard to put into words the impact that this morning's National Remembrance Service has had on me. 

I've chosen a photo of Farid Ahmed, because to me he's one of the most profound examples of love overcoming hate that has come out of the Christchurch horror massacre. 
He told a crowd of 25,000 people, in Hagley Park this morning, that he has chosen love and that he has chosen to forgive the shooter who killed his wife. He said, "This heart doesn't like that the pain I have gone through ... that any human being should go through that kind of pain. That is why I have chosen peace, I have chosen love and I have forgiven." It was a beautiful speech and he received a standing ovation.

The same was given to our PM Jacinda Adern, who started off trying to give her Maori welcome through waves of applause, with everyone standing. 
She said, "What words express the grief of a city that has already known so much pain? I thought there were none, but then I came here, and I was met with a simple greeting: As-salamu alaykum, peace be upon you. "
Amongst many profound things she said, one that stood out for us all was that New Zealand could be the nation that discovers the cure for racism. 

Our Governor General Dame Patsy Reddy spoke on behalf of the Queen, and said "We will defeat poisonous malice that seeks to divide us."

I have put extra photos in Extras: The PM speaking, giving loving encouragement to a survivor, and together with Dame Patsy Reddy.
There are many more I could add too .....


There is so much more to be shared - the wonderful singing of Cat Stevens/Jusuf Islam (Peace Train), Hollie Smith & Teeks singing so incredibly beautifully 'Whakaaria Mai - How Great Thou Art', and Christchurch's own Marlon Williams, plus 5 Aunties, singing a powerful Waiata. 

There were many tears and hugs, smiles and love, and an overwhelming feeling of unity.

Plus I have never ever seen such security. Police everywhere - about 300 of them. There were teams of Armed Security from Australia, all dressed in black, balaclavas, guns (the sort that have now been outlawed in NZ except for people like these). A helicopter hovering high overhead. Plus only 3 entry points into the park, a park that has many entry points. 'They' weren't taking any chances today.

What a day. A day I'll never forget. Thanks for coming with me Blue Poppy. 

Ko Tātou, Tātou - We Are One .....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.