Explore, Dream, Discover

By Snowcycle

Royal Mail

A very breezy morning for my bike ride. It was a bit difficult heading out through Hillend and the Seafield Moor Road, and rather gusty in Penicuik. Even the climb out of Penicuik,while slow was relatively fine, I had expected it. The hard bit was the Moor road heading to West Linton. The moor is very open, no shelter from the wind. Heading up hill I was lucky to get up to 13kph. I just slipped in to the small chainring, and kept on pedalling. It took over 35 minutes on a route that normally takes about 23 minutes.

It was a relief to get to West Linton. A little bit of shelter from the wind makes a big difference, I am using the large chainring again. From here, through Romanno Bridge and down the B road to A72, there were gusty side winds. Just before the A2,heading over a small bridge, I temporarily slowed, but as soon as I turned left, the wind picked up, and I was pushed up the hill. The A72 snakes, heading south there were side winds, when heading east, acceleration.

From Lyne, the riding was less dramatic. A fast ascent of the Meldons, and a sheltered descent, meant I reached Eddleston in no time. I head north along the A703 for a wee while, before turning off on the the Falla Toll road. The switchbacks weren't too bad, and soon I was being pushed along the road towards Gladhouse.

Then its on to the Top Gear road to head home. I wasn't looking forward to the headwind here, but it is more to my left, so it's over Mount Lothian, then down Pomathorn, the descent to Auchendinny with a fierce side wind is not pleasant. Extra shows Uttershill Castle.

From Penicuik, it is mostly a tail wind through Penicuik, Bush to Hillend and home. I am back a bit later than usual. The wind was quite hellish.

The ride can be seen at Relive here.

In the afternoon, as my partner is working today as well, I walk down towards Morningside, before getting the bus, to Oxfam, where I buy instant coffee. From here I walk from here to Tollcross, making sure my legs don't get too stiff. Just where Bruntsfield Place becomes Leven Street, the postbox has got a wee decoration, see main blip.

I meet my partner for coffee and afternoon cake, but not a big one, before we head home.

In the evening, we go out for a wee meal down in Morningside. Nice way to end the weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.