Nest Building?

Four of us from the blip meet group drove a couple of hours down to the barrier island of Grand Isle in Louisiana.  The drive was an experience in itself, as the landscape of endless water dotted with small islands was new to me.  It was like a treasure hunt looking for birds and flowers when we arrived.  This Brown Pelican was my favorite, for he appears to be collecting nesting material.  Apparently the males bring the sticks, etc to the females to construct the nest.
These trips are never long enough.  It was such a pleasure to spend time with these super blippers, while basking in the sunshine.  A special thank you to all of them!

I would also like to thank those who commented on my New Orleans zoo gorilla photo yesterday.  I like to hear what others think about zoos and find it helpful to be reminded that zoos perform important conservation and educational work. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.