Unplanned Portraiture ...

A grey and rainy day. But in the afternoon it stopped raining. I took a camera and went outside to try to get some results in the context of street photography. For one reason or another it was not successfully.

A bit disappointed I returned home. Entering the room I was suddenly surprised by a big shadow on the window right in front of me. The next moment I found myself on the floor... I had recognized the shadow of a heron landing in the backyard just next to the little pond just two metres away from the backyard door. Perhaps a chance to make a picture anyway. As low to the ground as I could, I crawled to the bench where a camera was fitted with a 300mm telephoto lens.

Then I crawled to a part of the room where, when I would stand, would be less visible against the dark background and the heron wouldn't see me ... I thought. How careful I moved ... the head turned from the pond to the window in the backyard door. Just a moment a big eye stared at me - at that time I pressed the shutter - and the heron had flown.

It was the one and only picture I could make. So it's my blip for today. It's not point nor needle sharp because I had no tripod and a door with double glazing between the heron and me. I chose for b/w because I had planned to make a b/w street photo ... ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.