Exits and Entrances

On the day when Forrest moved out of Leeds and back in with me.

I’ve never been cut out for heavy lifting but everything was successfully moved without straining anything too seriously. I’m very glad that neither of my sons is acquisitive. They’re just not that interested in things and owning stuff. My little flat seemed to accommodate him without much trouble at all. 

Forrest’s one materialistic indulgence is his television, which is literally twice as big as mine and considerably smarter too. Watching TV tonight was revelatory in respect to its visual impact. I’ve only experienced that twice before, first as a kid when I watched a program in colour for the first time, and then more recently when high definition became available. It was a shift of just that same order of magnitude. Trouble is that there’s now no going back. Expectations adjust. I’ll have to get my own super-sized TV when he leaves - assuming that he will one day leave again, that is!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.