It has been a while...

... since I blipped a 'Then & Now' shot, based on an old photo from the Harrogate Library Local History Collection.

The library volunteers are currently planning a display of pictures for Local History Month (in May) and we are basing this year's display on one particular street which has seen many changes. This is Albert Street in the town centre 

The original photograph shows a block of houses, shops and offices, possibly from the 1920s, and what it looks like today. 

One problem I faced when taking the ''Now' picture is the amount of on-street car parking, at all times of day and night. I took several photos whilst one large car was parked close to the left of the shot. Parked illegally on double yellow lines, with the engine running, the driver clearly thought (incorrectly) that their car would be featured in my photos. 

I did notice, just before I moved away, that the driver appeared to be expressing their displeasure with a hand signal (see the extra)  - I thought it too good to miss.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.