AislingMorgan

By AislingMorgan

Camino de Santiago

We made it...  

What an amazing experience.. it was tough going at times and even though we had prepared for the walking over several months we were not prepared for the terrain.. much more mountainous than we had thought but we got there.. "steady goes it" was our motto !!

What we were not prepared for was how beautiful a city Santiago is.. we just fell in love with it.  The building, the feel, the people, the food... I would recommend it to anybody as a city visit on its own.

We were also really taken by the friendliness of all the Spanish people we met  along the way.  The facilities were second to none and again the food and wine was so good at the end of a tough day.  

We were sorry to leave... I  think we will be back as a "normal" visitor someday.

As for the "pilgrim" aspect of the walk.  As my husband pointed out.. it should be hard going as it was a pilgrim after all.  I did it for "personal reasons" and I felt I achieved what I had hoped for... and a little bit more..  

Now for my next challenge.....

P.S.... it was worth carrying my camera....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.