The Body Observed

No not the body in the selfie, but the title of an exhibition at the Sainsbury Centre. It features over 130 works by Magnum photographers from the 1930s to date. G, H and I took part in a tour of the exhibition led by a very knowledgeable and insightful guide, which lasted an engaging hour and a half, not the hour planned. He explained that there were two broad groupings of photos, the body as an art-form and the body in documentary telling a story. 

I did take some photos of my favourite pieces that I was going to blip, then thought that even the most tasteful might not meet with some people's approval. Hence the selfie taken from an interactive part of the exhibition. There was one photographer who took photos of famous people jumping, and in the interactive section there was a large mirror where you could try the same. G, H and I did try jumping as a group of three and taking a photo at the same time, but my compact camera wasn't up to the job! My favourite 'art' photo was Zebra Woman by Werner Bischof taken in 1942. A most enjoyable day, rounded off by buying a 'pre-loved' Olympus mirrorless camera and lens from Wex. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.