kiz75

By kiz75

RSPB Lochwinnoch

Really sad to see this. I’m a reasonably frequent visitor to the centre (and the hide) and a member of the RSPB but there appears to have been no consultation on this.
I love coming to the centre but have been concerned about a number of changes in recent times. The centre has made huge steps to promote itself with families, and hosts a large number of kids events. While this is a positive step, and anything that promotes conservation education is a good thing, recent changes and focuses appears to be alienating other members. The decision to build a kids playground beside the blind hide was bizarre.

In addition, the vegetation around the blind hide has been massively cut back and the feeding station has been reduced, While I acknowledge that maintenance of the grounds is required, it’s been noted that it’s affecting the variety of species visiting that spot, and too often the feeders are almost empty. A recent change in management has had noticeable effect, not always for the better.
I would happily volunteer my time to help improve the hide if it came to it, I’m sure others would do the same. I wonder how many other users of the centre are unaware of this.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.