Carpe diem

By EveryDayMatters

Casablanca

Bogart, Casablanca, Sam and the Piano

It is one of those weeks already. Have not had time to think about a proper 'blip' today and it is nearly midnight. I am running out of inspiration. I either need to buy a couple of kittens (J) or take a year out (M) :)

A fallback is my book of 20th century icons. I must get around to reading it one of these days instead of looking at the pictures, and taking pictures of pictures; which is a kind of 'metapicture' activity I suppose.

Bogart, Casablanca were in the news last week. They auctioned poor old Sam's piano "As time goes by". I think it went for around quarter of a million. They expected a lot more, but this is a time of austerity and recession, plus a new cultural wilderness. It is one of my favourite films and one to catch in B/W around Xmas time.

Here's to watching old movies at Xmas time with a roaring coal fire !! Something to look forward to.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.