La vida de Annie

By Annie

Mestral.

First visit to the recently-rehoused recycling centre in the polígono in Mahon. As a longstanding veteran of the UK's charity shops, car boot sales and antiques fairs, this is right up my street. I was like a pig in shit Brexit looking at all the old furniture and random bits of stuff in there.I saw some nice things I'd like if I lived in a bigger place, but resisted all the tempting smaller tat - it was a quick recce visit after all, and I will return with intent in the future. I did somehow leave with 3 more soft toys for Buster though, which I couldn't resist for a euro. Afterwards I heard a wonderful sound of mass drumming echoing around the buildings. It was a group of teens practising their art on some wasteland waiting to be developed, and I wished I'd had a camera with me as they were too far away for a phone pic. The exuberance they showed in their joyful rhythms and marching was wonderful to behold. Sport and music are pastimes well adopted by the young people here. Knife crime and drugs less so (if at all).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.